Eternal Soundcheck

The Bats - Daddy's Highway LP

Flying Nun

Sold out.

Vinyl re-issue of The Bats' 1987 debut album.  Includes digital download.

Track list:

Side One

1.  Block Of Wood

2.  Miss These Things

3.  Mid City Team

4.  Some Peace Tonight

5.  Had To Be You

6.  Daddy's Highway

Side Two

1.  Treason

2.  Sir Queen

3.  Round And Down

4.  Take It

5.  North By North

6.  Tragedy

Format:  12" vinyl record.  33rpm.  Includes mp3 digital download of the album.

Year of re-issue release:  2011 

Label:  Flying Nun (FNLP079)

Country:  New Zealand


One of the outstanding New Zealand albums of the 1980s, The Bats 1987 debut album possesses a quietly powerful sound that immediately tugs the listener in. From the lo-fi pop hook of North by North through the gentle drone of Tragedy, their quirky energy glows with shimmering harmonies, whispered vocals, reeling basslines and a sweet sense of despair. As catchy as it is thought-provoking, Daddy s Highway is full of the haunting beauty and bittersweet melodies for which the four-piece have become so loved.

- Rising Above Bedlam

Please note:  Due to distribution agreements I am only able to sell this release to Australian based customers.  For overseas distributors please refer to the Flying Nun website.