Eternal Soundcheck

Boomgates - Double Natural LP

Bedroom Suck

Sold out.

Words from the label:

"Boomgates started as a couple of friends having a loose Thursday evening sing and strum on the couch. It felt good. So more friends were invited along to the sporadic jam sessions. It soon became obvious that this crew were now a proper band in their own right. Something like a mix of Big Star, Camper Van Beethoven, Towns Van Sant, The Velvet Underground, The Church and probably a heap of something else thrown in on top, Boomgates boasts members of Eddy Current Suppression Ring, Twerps, Dick Diver and about a million other awesome projects. Double Natural is their first long player." - Bedroom Suck

Track listing:


1.  Flood Plains

2.  Layman's Terms

3.  Comes Come Home

4.  Natural Progression

5.  Cartons and Cans


1.  Whispering or Singing

2.  Hold Me Now

3.  Hanging Rock

4.  Everything

5.  Any Excuse

Format:  Vinyl.  12" LP.  33 RPM.  Second repress on yellow coloured vinyl.  Includes a bonus MP3 download of the album.

Year of release:  2012

Label:  Bedroom Suck (BSR035)

City / Country:  Melbourne, Australia


"Domestic distractions, relentless uncertainty and the constant threat of change feature on Double Natural, all via the forever duelling vocals of Hughes and Huntley. It’s a place where nothing is ever complete, every line an exercise in inevitability. For Huntley, he's seeing reliable things fade (“The sign outside your parents’ house said for sale/Now it's sold”), making excuses for his communication failures (“I blame it on my pen with the invisible ink”) and coming to terms with his own fear of commitment (“Not every beginning has an end/but I can't tell.”) Hughes’ feelings aren’t that disparate either, bemoaning the piling up of dishes and praising the stability of bin night before bastardising a turn of phrase with something foreboding like “There’s a storm brewing in my tea.” When Huntley murmurs, “I got stuck in a lift/that went down” as an introduction to ‘Natural Progression’ (with Hughes backing his calls of “It’s just a natural progression … to the end”), you get a pretty good idea of where their minds are at." - Max Easton, Mess & Noise

"It started as friends catching up for some quiet beers and a loose Thursday evening jam. It helped that those sharing Coopers on the couch were some of the more talented musicians in Melbourne. Now, after a brace of seven inches, Boomgates drop their debut LP and it’s no stretch to say it’s one of the most anticipated local albums of recent times.

Much is said of the members’ lineage, but Boomgates is a band in its own right and Double Natural shuffles along with a low-key, countryish charm. Recorded by Alex Macfarlane, the album captures the loose, rambunctious feel of the band’s live shows. Brendan Huntley and Steph Hughes share vocal duties on most tracks – ‘Natural Progression’ is a true duet, with synchronised vocals leading into a killer guitar lead jam.

With lyrics about freight trains, song titles such as ‘Flood Plains’ and ‘Cows Come Home’ and a jangly guitar, there is a Blundstone boot feel in parts possibly the influence of Steph whose band Dick Diver has trodden a similar path.

Brendan’s delivery seems relaxed compared to the hyperactivity of his other band Eddy Current Suppression Ring, but then his ramble at the end of ‘Any Excuse’ seems like a stream of conscious tip on how to garden/nurture a relationship. Just like the album, it’s loose, fun and relaxed." - Tim Scott, The Thousands