Eternal Soundcheck

Bed Wettin' Bad Boys - Ready For Boredom 12" LP

R.I.P Society

Sold out.


Words from the label:

"Ready For Boredom is the debut full length from Sydney’s most aptly named power punk band – a charming mix of the best of the ‘70s punk explosion with the mid-‘80s US independent underground.  

Their approach is grounded in the UK pre-punk pubs and wild bands like Dr. Feelgood and Slade, who pre-empted the punk resurgence of rock n roll in the pop charts with bold riffing and a no frills approach, much in the same manner The Replacements would do a decade later in the American Midwest. This combination of the industrious post-hardcore US and the song oriented UK punk finds expression in the devout interrogation of ‘Sally’, in the heartbroken longing of ‘Bite My Tongue’, in the tribute to all guitar riffing history of ‘Devotion’.

This is a band that never had a humble beginning by virtue of their idiotic name and anomalous approach – a shambolic trio with a guitar, a bass and a standup drummer bashing cymbal, snare and floor tom, all taking turns to sing songs that were thick with feeling. Despite the suggestion that it was all a con and they were just there to have a blast and ruffle a few feathers in a Sydney that wouldn’t take to ye olde guitar riff easily, the BWBB were expressing a depth of vulnerability in songs that were clearly about real life feelings, insecurities and inadequacies presented matter-of-factly. Yes, they insisted, we might have the kind of name that not even a suburban rap crew of 14-year old nang huffers would take on, but we’re a real band, and these are real songs."  R.I.P Society

Track listing:


1.  Devotion

2.  Bite My Tongue

3.  Only Loneliness

4.  Call

5.  Have You Ever


1.  Any Day Now

2.  Sally

3.  Wait And See

4.  Ready For Boredom

5.  Keep It From You

Format:  Vinyl.  12" LP.  33 RPM.  Includes download code.

Year of release:  2013

Label:  R.I.P Society (RIP032)

City / Country:  Sydney, Australia


“Bed Wettin’ Bad Boys write songs that you can blindly skol longnecks to, but some of them are quite devastatingly sad, and crucial to that – and what defines the album as a whole – is the feeling of outgrowing rock ‘n roll but still wanting it.” Shaun Prescott, Crawlspace Magazine